Get crafty for Christmas!

Pom-poms are amazing. Christmas is amazing. Putting them together? Amazing!

Christmas wreaths are the icing on the Christmas decoration cake. They look fab on a front door, back door, house wall, wherever.

This year I decided not to pay £15 for a wreath but to have a stab at making my own. In previous years I have tried this with an oasis ring and some bits of tree cut down from the garden. The results were mediocre at best. So this year I decided to use a skill I’m actually good at and make a pom-pom wreath instead. It wasn’t too hard although it was a little time-consuming but I think all the best things are! If you want to make one, you will need;

25cm polystyrene circle

300g green yarn in different shades (I used two different shades)

Packet of red mini pom-poms

Pom-pom maker (or cardboard circles see here)

Glue gun

Twine

Embroidery scissors

Large glass of wine (optional)

15310882_10154302716593655_58572449_o

 

First, thread a piece of yarn through the middle of the ring and tie to make a hanger. I didn’t do this and then had to negotiate the pom-poms!

Start making the pom-poms. If you have a pom-pom maker, the process will go quicker.

I used around 30 pom-poms to make my wreath but I was daft and only had 100g of yarn in each colour. If I did it again I would buy at least 100g more and probably use nearer 35 pom-poms. I played yarn chicken and lost!

Once you have made all the pom-poms, you can begin gluing them onto the polystyrene ring using the glue gun. Make sure all the sides are covered so none of the polystyrene shows through.

15368967_10154302716938655_362526735_o

15369787_10154302717283655_1171524769_o

Once you have glued all the green pom-poms on, you can start added the little red ones. I added them randomly and stopped when I thought it looked right.

When the glue has dried, hang your pom-pom wreath proudly from you door and wait for the compliments to come in 🙂

15292624_10154302717773655_1135049196_o

I had a lot of fun making this wreath. You can experiment with different coloured yarns to create bright wreaths, monochrome wreaths or whatever takes your fancy. The world is your pom-pom oyster!

Leave a Reply

